June 2014 Magazine Freebies Part 1 – Free Eyeko Eyeliner!

Hi All!

Another month, another installation of mag freebies! I must say,other than for the freebies, I would never buy a magazine, why bother when I can get loads of information (usually much more in-depth and possibly more truthful as well) online on blogs and vlogs? But one thing that magazines do do better than any blog could ever do is… amazing freebies. Haha. The day that bloggers somehow manage to offer that as well (I guess some blogs do great reader giveaways and samples?) is the day magazines should quake in fear… does anyone else just take the freebie, flip through the mag for samples and then toss the rest in the bin? Also, another thing I find it hard to understand… why magazines always release their issues a month early… so these freebies are all for ‘July’ issues but obviously it’s still June now. Erm… so should I say this blog post is for 2015?

But back to the subject at hand… this month is a veritable bumper crop of freebies! Half of them are nail-related so nail polish lovers rejoice! I’ve split it into two parts, this part is all the non-nail freebies and there’s a free REN hot cloth cleanser set, free sunglasses, 25% off St Tropez voucher and, my absolute favourite, free Eyeko eyeliner!!!

Elle

elle mag st tropez

Elle July 2014 with 25% off St Tropez

Usual Mag Price: £3.60

Freebie:

 25% off St.Tropez Discount Card

Is it worth it:

Right, this really depends on what you spend your discount voucher on. You can use it on both spray tans and products (see the St Tropez website for more info) and the great thing is that you can use this card as many times as you want till 10th July 2014.

Reviews:

St Tropez is apparently the best in tanning, I really don’t know because I’ve never and probably will never do a fake tan or even try and get a tan in my life. I’m not sure why, I’m just utterly not interested in one (then again, I always said I’d never get into nail polish and look at me now…)

Would I get it?

Nope, I don’t do tans! But if you/your friends love a good tan, then this is a must really. £3.60 for a 25% off discount card that you can use for almost a month and perhaps even share amongst you (is that  a little naughty? hehe), great deal! I’d advise you to stock up on tanning products for the holidays now too if you get this deal 😉


Cosmopolitan

Cosmo mag sunnie

Cosmopolitan July 2014 with free sunglasses

Usual Mag Price: £3.60

Freebie:

Your choice of a free pair of sunglasses (there is 3 to choose from) as well as a tube of mentos 😉

Is it worth it:

Well, the sunglasses seem to be unbranded so it’s anyone’s guess how resilient or hardy they are, I’d say it’s a cheap pair of sunnies none-the-less and if you personally like the look of one of them and fancy taking a new pair on holiday this summer (and a tube of mentos!) why not?

Reviews:

Nothing to review here! It seems the sunglasses protect from UV rays (they’ve got a little uv sticker on them) but I’d take that with a pinch of salt.

Would I get it?

Nope, I got a free pair of sunnies as a Bourjois gift with purchase last summer and am still happy with those (haha, I swear half the things I own were free gifts or freebies of some sort…) but if I needed a pair this is definitely one freebie I’d consider.


InStyle

InStyle July 2014 with Ren Hot Cloth Cleanser Set

InStyle July 2014 with Ren Hot Cloth Cleanser Set

Usual Mag Price: £3.90 (£2.50 in Tesco!)

Freebie:

Ren Rosa Centifolia 30ml Hot Cloth Cleanser and a stay warm luxury cloth (full size 150ml costs £16.00)

Is it worth it:

Okay, if you divide the full size down to 30ml and calculate the cost… this freebie is only worth £3.20, although there’s also the cost of the cloth itself which is anyone’s guess so maybe it’s worth say £4? Barely worth the mag price but at least you’re ‘breaking even’, lol!

Reviews:

This baby is meant to be a two-phase cleanser that purifies, decongests, gently exfoliates, and removes all makeup, which is quite a lot for one little product to do! It also is gentle on skin and ideal for sensitive skin. Scores an average of about 4 stars out of 5 on most beauty boards. With the cute little packaging, I’d say it would also be great for travelling.

Would I get it?

Eep, tough choice! I feel my samples cupboard is full enough of travel-sized treasures without me stocking up on yet another one and I suppose the slightly pricier magazine puts me off it a bit (I like to feel like I got a bigger bargain, y’know?) but I’m severely tempted to tell the truth. If you’re in the market for a travel-sized cleanser, or looking to try out a new cleanser (particularly a hot cloth one) I can’t recommend this freebie enough. The main plus is that REN doesn’t actually do a mini version of this cleanser, so this freebie is kind of a ‘limited edition’ in that sense and totally for you if you want to try before committing to a full price one or just like smaller sized products!


Glamour

Glamour July 2014 with free Eyeko liner

Glamour July 2014 with free Eyeko liner

Usual Mag Price: £2.00

Freebie:

Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliners Black or Navy Blue (worth £12.00 each)

Is it worth it:

If you loved the amazing Eyeko eyelash curler freebie that same with InStyle in April (remember this post?) then you’ll love this one! I remember at least a couple of you got and loved that freebie 😉 I’ve been looking out for an Eyeko liner one ever since and hurrah, it’s finally here! Money-wise definitely worth it!

Reviews:

Eyeko liners are famous mainly because of Alexa Chung of the cat-flicked eye-liner fame, hehe. Reviews rave about how easy these liners are to use and how they stay put on day and have amazing pigmentation etc. All very positive!

Would I get it?

Already did! Was doing some grocery shopping in Tesco this afternoon and could not resist >_< in fact, I couldn’t choose between the 2 colours either so I got both, a black one and a navy blue one, haha. The black seemed to be less in stock than the navy blue. You’d be hard pressed to find a drugstore eyeliner for £2 anyway, much less one that is of this quality (apparently, well, all the reviews can’t be wrong?). Watch out for a little review/swatch of this coming soon 😉

LOVE,

Penny

What do you think of this month’s freebies?

If you liked this post, there options are endless,

you can follow this blog on WordPress (just click ‘follow’ above),

by email (see sidebar),

or on Bloglovin!

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “June 2014 Magazine Freebies Part 1 – Free Eyeko Eyeliner!

    • Eep! So far the two I’ve got seem to be working fine, then again I’ve only had them for a day.

      Definitely worth picking up this freebie, at least it’ll only set you back £2 and not £12. I’d be pretty upset if I had £12 liners that kept being faulty!

      Xx
      Penny

  1. Pingback: June 2014 Magazine Freebies Part 2 – The Nail Edition! | Parsimonious Penny

Please leave a reply =)

