Loreal Loves – Loreal Skin Perfection Magic Touch Instant Blur

Hello There!

By the time this post goes up it’ll be Thursday and I’ll finally be on my way back home to London from Berlin! But in real-time, I’m typing this on 1am on Wednesday night a week back and I still have a ton of tickets to print out, my bags to pack, a shower to take, some work to do… and my flight is at 9am, my oh my!!!

Anyway, time to get writing then.

Does anyone else feel that L’Oreal really tries to be a touch above the other drugstore brands, in what is possibly a good way? I mean, we all know it’s the sister brand of Estee Lauder in the same way Bourjois and Chanel are connected but that sometimes doesn’t mean anything. Sometimes luxury brand innovations do filter down to drugstore brands but not necessarily to the sister brand.

Think about it, there’s so many amazing L’Oreal products that out-strip luxury brand performance (Telescopic Mascara!) or are amazing dupes for them (L’Oreal Micellar Water and Biotherm anyone?). The L’Oreal Skin Perfection series and the Magic Touch Instant Blur in particular is a great example.

Loreal Skin Perfection

Magic Touch Blur… sound familiar?

Right, first thing I thought when I saw this on the shelves was ‘Nanoblur dupe’!! Hands up who’s with me?

Nanoblur is made by the same folks who brought us the amazing Hydraluron, it’s basically a new optical illusion technology where it ‘blurs’ your skin, so once applied your imperfections are barely noticeable. Perfect for those no-makeup days and also as a great foundation/aid to your regular makeup coverage.

However, Nanoblur by Indeed Labs is also quite pricey at £19.99 for 30ml while the L’Oreal Magic Touch is £8.66 for 15ml (smaller pack but still works out cheaper). Plus, there’s a 3 for 2 on L’Oreal and most drugstore products, not so on the Indeed Labs products!

L’Oreal famously had Cheryl Cole model their Instant Blur cream with no makeup on except a bit of mascara and the blur cream itself, she looked fantastic, but then again she’s Cheryl Cole.

Pack Size

Pack Size

The picture above gives you a bit of an idea how small the tube is, so you aren’t as surprised as I am when you first open the box, as you can see it’s smaller than my hand and my hand is ridiculously tiny.

I guess the main question is, does it work?

Magic Touch Instant Blur Swatch

Magic Touch Instant Blur Swatch

As you can see from the swatch above, the cream itself has quite a thick consistency, it’s quite hard to smooth out and I wouldn’t say a little goes a long way… I’d say a little is a little in this case. But that little does do what it’s meant to do!

It’s kind of hard to see in the picture but the area of skin with the cream smoothed over is slightly more ‘blurred’ than the rest, if you know what I mean? Still, I’d never recommend just wearing this unless you have a terrific skin day, it is what it is, extremely light coverage.

However, what I really love about it is how it’s an amazing primer. My foundation looks much better with this on underneath and seems to ‘stick’ on better as well! For a primer it’s a reasonable price and has the added benefit of ‘blurring’ some of your imperfections too!

Not sure whether I’d repurchase this but am not unhappy with it either… in general I love that I got to try out a ‘blur’ technology cream for a fraction of the price (I got this on 3 for 2 as well!).

LOVE,

Penny

What are your L’Oreal loves?

If you liked this post, there options are endless,

you can follow this blog on WordPress (just click ‘follow’ above),

by email (see sidebar),

or on Bloglovin!

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Loreal Loves – Loreal Skin Perfection Magic Touch Instant Blur

  1. Pingback: Boots Black Friday 4-Day Event Deals!!! | Parsimonious Penny

Please leave a reply =)

