MUA Matte Lipsticks – Review + Swatches

UPDATE: See the rest of the swatches here and read about how these lippies can literally do your whole face of makeup here!

Hello my Budget Beauty Lovers!

I have something here today that you’re absolutely going to love and it’s the amazing MUA Matte Lipsticks.

For those who aren’t familiar with MUA, it’s Make Up Academy and they’re famous (or infamous) for their extremely cheap makeup, even by drugstore standards! There’s plenty of hits and misses but they actually do some amazing products sometimes that make the misses all worth it. You can only find them in select Superdrug stores or online.

I’ve been seeing reviews about the new matte lipsticks popping up and everyone’s been raving about them and going ‘it’s only £1!!’, I just can’t resist a good bargain… and funnily enough I just happen to need new lipsticks as well. My search for a true red is still on-going and to be honest my old ones are wayyy past their expiry date >_<

By the way, the amazing photo below is courtesy MUA, as you can see the matte lipsticks are really MATTE.

MUA Matte Lipsticks!

MUA Matte Lipsticks!

Don’t worry, I’ve got some swatches of my own below! But I didn’t manage to get all the colours so I thought I’d stick the MUA picture in as well 😉 On to the review!

The Packaging

Really simple and clean and white. I must say the white seems a tad bit ‘cheap’ to me, I know other bloggers are saying it’s a nice difference to the usual black you see in drugstores but black just looks effortlessly more expensive I guess!

I do love that the colour of each lipstick (like, the actual colour of the bullet, so it’s true to the lippie colour) is also on the bottom of the lipstick case. That makes it so easy to know which one you’re reaching for, a pet peeve of mine when I’m rummaging for a particular colour… also, I think it looks quite pretty =) In my picture below you can see what I mean… the lippies are actually upside down in that pic =D

The Feel

It’s not easy to put on at all! There’s a lot of drag and as this is my first ever matte lipstick (never tried it before!) I just assume that all mattes are like this, feels like I’m dragging a crayon on my lips, is it though? What are your experiences like?

The Results

I’m not sure if it’s because it’s a matte formulae or because I needed to press so hard to get it on my lips but boy does it stay there! I’ve worn it all day, eaten a full meal, looked in the mirror and it’s still there =D This makes me so happy, you have no idea…

I’ve heard matte lipsticks are quite un-flattering as they tend to cling to the lips and make every imperfection completely obvious/visible… this is true, but it’s not as bad as I thought it’d be. By the way, I hear the MUA Luve Velvet Lip Lacquers are slightly more forgiving, I really want to get my hands on one of those now! They’re just £3 each which is expensive compared to the Matte Lipsticks but cheap by any other standards!

MUA Matte Lipsticks

Swatches

The Colours

Some people absolutely love the nude shade but I hated it the moment I put it on. It doesn’t look bad on my skin but it’s lighter than the natural pigment of my lips so it totally washes out my face, I look a bit dead or very, very sick =P

I LOVE Peachy Keen and Pouty Pink though! For some reason, on me they look just a neutral with a touch of coral or a neutral with a splash of pink… so it’s not too bright to wear everyday! I’d choose the peach shade over the pink for everyday/work use though, I know summer’s over but I think with eyes and cheeks all darkening up for winter, surely a bit of peach on the lips tones everything done?

These were the only three shades I could find at the Superdrug store I was at, and there weren’t even many of them left =( I really want to try the darker shades too! Although from the MUA picture it seems the purple is way darker in the bullet than on the lips. Have any of you tried them? I know for sure the moment I spot them I’m getting them for sure.

To Buy or Not To Buy?

Just get them. No really! And soon too! The moment you spot one.

Firstly, they’re only £1 each. Secondly, they do have staying power, you won’t be needing to reapply this every 2 hours which is what way more expensive lipsticks would have you doing. Thirdly, Peachy Keen is gorgeous and I’ll bet so is that dark red one… And finally, Superdrug is having a 3 for 2 right now. Pick up 3 lipsticks for only £2!!! When are you ever going to have a deal like that again?

So yes, I hardly ever say ‘just buy it!’ but this time I am, I’m slightly completely enamoured (slightly completely enamoured?! Does that make sense?). They’re so hard to find, if you spot them you are quite lucky…

Also, if you hate them, it was just £1…

Enjoy your £1 Lipsticks!!!

LOVE,

Penny

PS: After I did this post I got the rest of the MUA Matte Lipsticks, see more swatches here!!

Have you tried any MUA products before?

If you liked this post, there options are endless,

you can follow this blog on WordPress (just click ‘follow’ above),

by email (see sidebar),

or on Bloglovin!

Follow on Bloglovin

14 thoughts on “MUA Matte Lipsticks – Review + Swatches

  1. I agree totally, I’ve worn MUA lipsticks and they stay on for the entire day! A little tricky to apply but still, for £1 you can’t complain 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bristolians, I Envy You – Bristol MUA Mini-Haul | Parsimonious Penny

  3. Pingback: MUA VS. Collection Mascara | Video Reviews | She

  4. Pingback: MUA Matte Lipsticks Scarlet Siren and Wild Berry | Parsimonious Penny

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Budget Red Lipsticks under £5 | Parsimonious Penny

  6. Pingback: National Lipstick Day – £5 Off All Debenhams Lipsticks! Today Only. | Parsimonious Penny

  7. Hey can u tell me in the first picture u uploaded of 5 lipstick shades, I want to know the names of the 2 pink shades. One at the center, and another at the bottom right.

Please leave a reply =)

