Penny-Pinching in Action – Boots Summer Points Event Haul + Some Current Boots Promotions

Hi Fellow Budget Babes!

As some of you might know, Boots had their summer points event 2 Thursdays ago. Sadly, that was before I had started my blog (to be precise, it has like 2 days before I started the blog and the whole idea of Parismonious Penny was still a vague imp of a thought giggling through the back of my mind). Otherwise it would’ve been the number one thing I would have alerted people to! I myself trekked all the way to one of the Boots stores offering the promotion (it wasn’t all of them, there were 2 in London and a smattering in other cities).

Boots Summer Points Event

Anyway, if you have a Boots Advantage card (if you don’t, why not? The only good reason not to have  Boots Advantage card is because you have a Superdrug card, seriously, the points you collect and save up will be worth it!), the summer event meant that instead of 4 points per £1 you got a whopping 25 points! In other words, you get almost 30% off your £30 spend.

Each point translates to 1p that you can spend in-store BUT sometimes Boots has special events that makes their points worth double their amount. So a word of advice with regards to loyalty cards/points, always save them up to use for special promotions or events.

So, following on my post a few days back on how to shop sales smart , I thought I could use my most recent makeup/beauty haul as an example on how to put some of those points into practice!

Before I made the trip itself, I already had my wishlist of products I needed/wanted based on what I already had/lacked in my beauty cabinet and based on quite a lot of online reviews. I can’t remember the number of ‘Top 10 Drugstore Foundation’ videos I watched or ‘Top 5 Drugstore products under £10’ etc etc (I LOVE videos with those tags! Don’t you?). Stylesuzi has a really good and comprehensive one on her top picks of drugstore makeup arranged by category, you can view it here.

It was tough but I limited myself to one of each type of product that I wanted to try; girls, you don’t need to buy 3 foundations or 5 concealers or 8 mascaras in one go, pick your top pick, try it, if it’s not for you try and swap it or sell it etc and if it is for you, congrats! Mission accomplished!

Some of these products I’ve been wanting to get for awhile but I was holding off getting them because I didn’t need them immediately and I waiting either to use them with a Boots points promotion or a 3 for 2 promotion. There are always 3 for 2 promotions, I love them.

Without further ago, here’s my haul! Or should I say, my boyfriend’s haul? Because he was the one ‘hauling’ the stuff back for me. What is the etymology of the word ‘haul’ as it’s currently used in the blogging world anyway?!

Boots Summer Points Haul

Stuff on 3 for 2 Offers (3 for 2 on Loreal and Bourjois products)

Loreal Telescopic Mascara BlackI love mascara so much I really need to hold myself back from buying everyone that’s out on the market! But this has really been getting a lot of rave reviews, both on Stylesuzie and AMR, so after much considering I really wanted to get it. Plus it’s been awhile since I bought my last one. The reviews are TRUE, this mascara might be one of the very best I’ve EVER used.

Loreal Touche Magic Concealer PenBeen experimenting with highlighters recently and I heard this is a good dupe for the legendary YSL Touche Éclat. Haven’t tried it yet.

Loreal Super Liner Ultra Precision BlackReally needed a good liner, my old one dried up. This one is magnificent and glides on smoothly but in no way is it ‘precision’, the brush is really thick!!

Bourjois Cream Blush in 03 Rose TenderThe beauty blogging world has been going crazy about these little cream blush pots, I haven’t tried a cream blush myself so went for it. Don’t think I’ve fully mastered the application yet!

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation in 52 VanillaNeeded a new foundation and been waiting to get one. This one really lives up to the hype!!

Bourjois So Lacque Glossy in 04Beautiful green, isn’t it? Reminds me of milky green tea.

+ Free Gift with any 3 Bourjois products, a pair of sunglasses in a pouchI paired the 3 for 2 on Bourjois with the free gift with any 3 Bourjois products 😉

Stuff on Half Price

Head and Shoulders Shampoo in Bee StrongNeed shampoo, and I only buy it when it’s on offer.

Head and Shoulders Conditioner in Bee StrongDitto above.

Dove Purely Pampering Cream BathDitto above again!

Nivea Men’s Power Refreshing Shower GelOkay, this was for the boyfriend. I told him to think of stuff he can get from Boots so we can hit the £30 together and this plus shoelaces is what he came up with…

Other random items:

Chicken Flatbreadboyfriend was hungry, this obviously isn’t in the picture as it’s been eaten long before

Simple Replenishing Rich MoisturiserI’ve been wanting to try this for ages since I’ve read that it’s much more moisturising and wrinkle-fighting than more expensive products. I usually use the Clinique Dramatically Moisturising but this is way more affordable. Will review it soon but want to give it at least a couple weeks’ run first =)

Clean and Clear Facial WashOops, just realised this isn’t in the picture! Well, at £2.99 it’s one of the best facial washes out there for the price!

Shoe Laces X 2boyfriend needed new ones, don’t they look random next to all the makeup products?

Loreal Men’s Shampoono, I’m not a man, for the boyfriend

And that’s it for my haul!

Just in case you want to grab yourselves a little bargain at Boots too, here are some 3 for 2 offers now on:

3 for 2 is on for all products from Loreal cosmetics, Bourjois, Maybelline,  John Frieda Haircare, No 7 Skincare, Simple Facial Care, Soap and Glory cosmetics. I’m sure you know the drill but basically it means you need to buy any 3 from the same brand and the cheapest will be free (woot).

Also, the Bourjois free gift with any 3 purchases is still on!! So it’s like stacking promotions on top of each other. There’re many Bourjois products to recommend really, their Healthy Mix foundations are amazing (and apparently very close dupe to one of the Chanel’s now discontinued foundations, not surprising as both companies are owned by the same family), their cream blushes are good and I’ve heard their Rouge Edit lipsticks really stay on the lips. So if I had to pick 3 Bourjois products to recommend, it’d be those =)

Happy Boots Shopping!

Love,

Penny

ps: one of the reasons why I wrote this post is because one of the items I bought is actually a gift for a dear friend, I would give it to her straight away but she’s out of the country and I just can’t keep it a secret anymore, so hello friend! Can you guess what it is? It’s super obvious.

pps: I’ve been eyeing Real Techniques brushes and I really want to get some! But am holding out for a 3 for 2 on these and it’s really worth it on make-up brushes…

Shout-out from anyone else out there who loves Boots?

If you liked this post, you can follow this blog on Bloglovin!

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Penny-Pinching in Action – Boots Summer Points Event Haul + Some Current Boots Promotions

  1. Pingback: Review – Simple Kind to Skin Replenishing Rich Moisturiser | Parsimonious Penny

  2. Pingback: My Homepage

  3. Pingback: URGENT Deal Alert – Boots Bank Holiday Points Event!! Plus some Boots Offers on now | Parsimonious Penny

  4. Pingback: Boots Points Event ALERT!!! | Parsimonious Penny

  5. Pingback: Lots of Boots Points Events!!!! | Parsimonious Penny

Please leave a reply =)

