Find a Penny, Pick it Up – An Introduction to Myself (Penny) and Why I’ve Started This Blog

Has anyone else ever heard of this little children’s rhyme?

Find a penny, pick it up,

And all day you’ll have good luck.

Cute, isn’t it? I didn’t hear about it till one day when I was out walking about with a friend of mine we spotted a penny and she recited that as she bent down to pick it up.

I love finding pennies on the street, it feels a bit like I’ve bagged myself a deal (although apparently the time you spend picking up the actual penny makes it not worth your time to do so – http://what-if.xkcd.com/22/).

Check out XKCD, it’s amazing.

Arguably, I would love finding 50 pound notes more but how often would that happen? (never, the answer thus far in my life is never) And that just about sums me up! I love finding a bargain or getting a good deal, God knows how much I love that, my love of bargain-hunting and good-deal-getting is second only to my love for God (thank you God for blessing our lives with the concept of sales as well as shopping, you’ve covered all bases!!). I don’t want to repeat all the bits of info that’s already there in the About section on the sidebar and the link above so to cut it short, I’m a typical Londoner female who really enjoys following beauty and fashion. I like shopping, clothes, make-up and beauty products as much as the next blogger and when I got started following beauty bloggers and youtube beauty gurus I got completely hooked. It became one of my favourite-est (that should be a word) hobbies and it absolutely makes my day when one of my favourites updates her blog or her channel (eg. Bubzbeauty, I think I might have a girl-crush on Bubz, my boyfriend is insanely jealous of her). BUT, and here’s the cinch, as much as I would love to own all the products in the world that all the beauty bloggers rave about, I can’t. And if I could, I wouldn’t; because I HATE parting with my money!! For me to spend on something, it has to be utterly, completely justified. Will the amount of happiness this product/item bring me be worth the amount I am parting with? Could this money go towards better things in my life or someone else’s? Sometimes, yes.

Now, I’m not saying anything against consumerism and shopping sprees, in the long run spending is actually incredibly important for the welfare of the country’s economy (just maybe not for my wallet’s personal welfare in the short-term), and I’m definitely not passing any judgment BUT I do believe there is a way for us to live the YOLO life without a huge YOLO price-tag! (ie. a price-tag that makes you go ‘YOLO that’s EXPENSIVE’)

YOLO that’s EXPENSIVE!!

So, to fuel both my passion for shopping, beauty etc. and placate my inner parsimonious soul, I naturally began bargain hunting! Seriously, almost every month/week/day there’s a bargain out there to be found, whether it’s a great freebie beauty sample that you can get sent to you just by filling out an online form or an epic sale there is ALWAYS something going on. And that feeling you get when you know you got your absolute money’s worth, maybe more, is SO GOOD.

Which brings me to the next part of that little children’s rhyme:

Give that penny to a friend,

And your luck will never end.

That said, my friend who picked up that penny gaves it to me. I thought that was quite sweet (ok, so it’s only a penny but it’s the thought that counts).

I was so enthusiastic about my bargain finds that I could never keep them to myself. My poor boyfriend has to sit and listen to me yabber on and on about how good a deal I’ve just saved on, how my monthly spend is going down etc etc. Of course I also share it with all my female friends (and sometimes unsuspecting male friends muahaha) and I’ve developed a bit of a reputation now but it’s still not enough! I’m picking up my pennies and passing them on to all of YOU out there (here’s my optimism in assuming that someone other than me will actually read this in the near future).

So, yeah, that’s me, that’s Parsimonious Penny and the rest is down to you.

Much Love,

Penny

ps: has anyone actually found a penny and picked it up? Or, for that matter, a £50 note??

 

 

 

Enjoyed this post? Like what the blog’s about?

Why not follow Penny on Bloglovin =)

Follow on Bloglovin

14 thoughts on “Find a Penny, Pick it Up – An Introduction to Myself (Penny) and Why I’ve Started This Blog

  1. Hi Penny! Welcome to WordPress. I LOVE your writing style with the added subtle humor! Looking forward to seeing what you post in the future.

  2. Hello! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that
    might be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    Many thanks!

  3. I actually wanted to send a brief note so as to express gratitude to you for these amazing tips and hints
    you are sharing at this website. My particularly long internet research has now
    been paid with really good content to share with my close friends.

    I ‘d say that most of us readers actually are unquestionably fortunate to exist in a fantastic website with so many wonderful individuals with valuable secrets. I feel rather grateful to have discovered your entire webpage and look forward to really more enjoyable moments reading here. Thanks a lot once again for a lot of things.

  4. Pingback: One-Year Blog-aversary!!! – Did You Save a Penny? | Parsimonious Penny

Please leave a reply =)

